Notion AI Alternatives in 2026: For Credit Limits, Private Notes or Stale Docs
Notion AI is the right choice if your team already works in Notion and can pay for Business seats. For self-hosted or local AI, look at AppFlowy. For private notes on your own device, Obsidian. For a team knowledge base that ranks verified docs first, Slite. For a Mac assistant around email and meetings, Merlin.
We make Merlin, one of the tools on this page. Every claim about other tools is checked against their own sites.
The best Notion AI alternative depends on what's pushing you out. AppFlowy suits people who want a Notion-style workspace with AI on their own servers. Obsidian suits private notes stored as files on your device. Slite suits teams whose real problem is out-of-date documentation. Merlin, a Mac app, suits people who want help with email, meetings and tasks and don't need a shared wiki.
Timing may be why this search is on your mind. Notion moved existing customers onto a new AI credit system on November 2, 2026, and AI Meeting Notes starts drawing on those credits on December 1. For many teams, that changes nothing they'd notice. This page covers who should stay, what the credits mean, four alternatives and a fifth worth a look, and how to move your pages.
Who should stay with Notion AI
Notion AI is the stronger choice when your documents, databases and projects already live in Notion, because the assistant works inside them and respects each person's permissions. Notion's AI page lists Notion Agent for multi-step tasks that create and edit pages and databases, Custom Agents that run on a trigger or schedule, Enterprise Search across connected apps, and AI Meeting Notes that work without a bot.
Notion AI also reaches beyond its own pages: the agents page says agents can work with Slack, mail and calendar, and connect to apps such as Linear, HubSpot and GitHub through Notion MCP. Notion holds SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 certification, with HIPAA support on Enterprise. Moving means rebuilding that setup somewhere else, often with fewer of those pieces. If your team relies on them and nobody has hit a credit limit, staying is a sound decision.
What Notion AI costs since the November 2026 change
Full Notion AI requires the Business or Enterprise plan. Notion's pricing page lists Plus at $10 and Business at $20 per member a month, with custom Enterprise pricing and a switch between monthly and yearly billing that saves up to 20%. Check the switch on that page for the rate you'd pay. Notion's plan help says AI usage on Free and Plus is limited and meant for trying it out.
Plan | Listed price per member a month | Notion AI | Monthly credits per member |
|---|---|---|---|
Free | $0 | Limited trial | Not listed |
Plus | $10 | Limited trial | Not listed |
Business | $20 | Agent, AI Meeting Notes, Enterprise Search (Beta) | 1,500 Standard and 500 Select |
Enterprise | Custom | Business features plus zero data retention with AI model providers | 1,500 Standard and 500 Select, which may vary by arrangement |
The credit split matters more than the seat price. Notion's announcement says Standard credits cover work where Notion picks the model, and Select credits cover work where you pick it or run a Custom Agent. The two balances can't be combined, and unused credits don't roll over. When one runs out, the features using it pause until the monthly reset, unless a workspace owner allows spending from a shared balance. Extra credits cost $10 per 1,000.
Notion says most people are unlikely to run out, and its numbers support that for lighter use. Its credit guide estimates about 10 Standard credits for a one-hour meeting, so 1,500 would cover roughly 150 hours if spent on nothing else. Agents that run all day on your team's behalf are the case to watch, since sub-agent work can cost more.
What pushes people away from Notion AI
Five reasons come up, and only some of them need a new tool.
- Paying for a seat to get the AI. Plus at $10 only includes a trial, so a small team that wants regular AI use moves up to Business.
- Metered agents. Teams building Custom Agents now have one more budget to forecast.
- Control over data. Notion says it doesn't train on customer data unless you opt in, and contracts bar its subprocessors from doing so. It also lists 30-day data retention with AI model providers outside Enterprise. Some people want a self-hosted setup or source code they can review.
- Working offline. Notion pages work offline in the desktop and mobile apps, but AI blocks don't, only the first 50 rows of a database's first view download, and AI Meeting Notes isn't supported offline.
- A wiki nobody trusts. Scattered, out-of-date pages are a documentation problem, and an assistant that reads them inherits it.
Try this before leaving Notion
Two adjustments inside Notion remove some of the pressure at no extra cost. If Select credits run low, switch Notion Agent to Auto, which uses your Standard balance instead. And Notion's announcement says connecting a ChatGPT Plus, Pro or Go account lets you run your personal Notion Agent without spending Standard or Select credits.
If you mostly use Notion for pages and meeting notes are the only AI you wanted, a separate note taker can sit beside a Plus plan. Merlin's guide to AI note takers compares the free plans, and the Granola comparison covers how Notion AI Meeting Notes stacks up.
AppFlowy: a Notion-style workspace you can host
AppFlowy calls itself an open-core, self-hostable AI workspace. Its homepage says you can run it on your own servers, in your own cloud or fully air-gapped, and power its AI with self-hosted models, so processing stays inside your environment. A 2025 AppFlowy post describes free local AI through Ollama for summarizing, rewriting and asking questions.
On AppFlowy's pricing page, the hosted Personal plan is $0 for one workspace owner, with 100 MB of storage, 7 MB uploads, 7 days of version history and a limited trial of hosted AI. Pro costs each member $12 monthly if paid annually, or $16 if paid month to month, with unlimited storage, 90 days of history and free guest editors. Apps cover iOS, Android, macOS, Windows, Linux and the browser. The page doesn't plainly say how much hosted AI Pro includes, so ask before you buy on that basis.
Pick AppFlowy if you want the page-and-database style of Notion and your reason for leaving is control over where data and models run. Someone on your team will need to run the server if you self-host.
Obsidian: private notes as plain files
Obsidian is a note app rather than a team workspace with AI built in. Obsidian's homepage says notes stay on your device as plain-text Markdown files, available offline, so you can open them with other software. It lists thousands of community plugins and no built-in AI, so any AI would have to come from a plugin you choose and vet yourself.
The app is free without limits, and a commercial license at $50 per user a year is optional. Sync across devices costs each user $4 monthly if paid annually, or $5 month to month, with end-to-end encryption. Downloads cover Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS and Android.
Pick Obsidian if your notes are mostly yours, you care about keeping files you can read anywhere, and you can live without a built-in assistant. Teams that depend on Notion databases should read the import limits below first.
Slite: a team knowledge base built around trust
Slite focuses on one job: keeping team documentation accurate and easy to find. Slite's homepage says verified docs rank first in AI search, stale sources rank lower, and its agent drafts changes for an expert to approve. Slite's AI Search lists Notion among its sources, alongside Slack, Google Drive, Jira and Confluence.
Slite's pricing page shows yearly billing: Basic at $10 per user each month, including 30 AI questions and 30 AI edits per person, and Pro at $20, which adds the Slite Agent, search across connected tools, unlimited AI edits and 50 monthly credits per seat. Slite has no free plan, though you can try it for 14 days without a card.
Pick Slite if your team uses Notion mainly as a wiki and the complaint is that answers come back out of date. Its pricing page is about docs and search, so check how it would handle any project databases you rely on.
Merlin: a Mac assistant, not a workspace
Merlin answers a different question from the tools above: what if most of your AI use was email, meetings and follow-up? Merlin lives on the Mac and works from Gmail and Google Calendar: it tracks who you owe a reply, records any call and writes notes you can search. Its Projects area makes documents, slides, spreadsheets, PDFs and websites from a sentence, with exports to PDF, Word and PowerPoint. Before it sends or books anything you asked for, it shows you the details and waits for your approval.
You can also keep Notion. Merlin's to-do list pulls tasks from Notion, Linear, Todoist and Granola's meeting action items into one place, and closes a task in Notion, Linear or Todoist once you confirm.
Merlin won't suit everyone. It runs only on Macs, not Windows or phones, and requires a Google account. Its site lists no shared wiki, databases or team workspace, so it can't replace Notion for a team that runs on those. Merlin has credits too: the free plan has 5,000 a month, Pro has 25,000 at $29 a month or $278 a year, unused credits don't roll over and new work pauses if you run out. The free plan keeps the recording and your own notes; transcripts of your meetings start on Pro.
Pick Merlin if you work alone or in a small team on a Mac and you were paying for Notion AI to handle your inbox, calls and to-dos more than your documents.
Notion AI, AppFlowy, Obsidian, Slite and Merlin side by side
All figures are US dollars from the page linked at the top of each column. Credits buy different amounts in each product, so don't compare the counts directly.
Free option | Limited AI trial on Free | Personal, limited AI trial | App is free | None; 14-day trial | 5,000 credits a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
First paid plan with regular AI | Business, $20 per member a month | Pro, $12 billed annually or $16 monthly, per member | No built-in AI; Sync from $4 billed annually | Basic, $10 per user monthly, on yearly billing | Pro, $29 a month or $278 a year |
AI metering | 1,500 Standard and 500 Select credits per member | Not plainly stated for Pro | None built in | 30 questions and 30 edits on Basic | 25,000 credits on Pro |
Platforms | Mac, Windows, mobile, web | iOS, Android, macOS, Windows, Linux, browser | Not stated on Slite's plan page | Mac | |
Where notes live | Notion's cloud, with offline pages in the apps | AppFlowy Cloud or your own servers | Files on your device | Slite's cloud | Recordings stay on your Mac; transcripts and notes sit in your Merlin account |
Shared team pages | Yes | Yes | Shared vaults with Sync | Yes | No |
Meeting notes | Business and up | Limited trial on Personal | None built in | Not stated on Slite's plan page | Recording on all plans; transcripts on paid plans |
Superhuman Docs: also worth a look
Superhuman Docs is the product formerly called Coda, and it suits teams that want docs to behave like small apps. Its homepage describes documents combined with databases and automations, more than 600 integrations, and Coda AI for chat, drafting, summarizing and an AI column in tables. You can start for free. Paid rates are on its plans page, so compare them with Notion Business for your own number of editors.
How to choose a Notion AI alternative
Match the alternative to what you'd complain about first.
- Your team loves Notion and nobody has hit a limit: stay, and set an owner to watch credit use after December 1.
- Legal or security needs AI on your own infrastructure: AppFlowy self-hosted. If Notion's documented terms already satisfy them, Enterprise's zero retention may be the smaller change.
- You work alone and want notes that outlive any app: Obsidian.
- People keep asking where the right answer is: Slite.
- You want docs that double as custom tools: Superhuman Docs.
- Email and calls are the real load, and you use a Mac: Merlin, with Notion kept for documents if you like.
How to move your pages out of Notion
Notion lets you export a whole workspace, but each destination handles databases differently. Test with a small section before moving everything.
- Export. In Notion, open Settings, select General under Workspace, then Export all workspace content. Notion's export guide lists HTML, Markdown and CSV, plus uploaded files.
- For Obsidian, use the official Importer plugin. A .zip of an HTML export doesn't preserve databases. Connecting your Notion account with an access token does, as Bases (Obsidian's database views), but imports only each database's primary view.
- For AppFlowy, upload the workspace .zip through its Notion import page. You get an email when it finishes, and your data lands in a new workspace.
- For Slite, ask about migration first. Its site shows customers who moved from Notion but doesn't explain the import.
- Plan to rebuild automation. These import guides cover pages and data, not Custom Agents, so budget time to recreate those.
One to-do list across Notion and your other apps
Merlin gathers your Notion tasks with those from Linear and Todoist into a single list on your Mac, and marks a task done in Notion after you confirm. Trying it takes a Google account and no card, because Merlin has a free plan.
Get MerlinFrequently asked questions
Is Notion AI free?
Not for regular use. Notion's Free and Plus plans include a limited trial of Notion AI, and full access requires Business, listed at $20 per member a month, or custom-priced Enterprise.
Can you buy Notion AI as an add-on?
Notion's current plans bundle Notion AI into Business and Enterprise, and its pricing page doesn't list a separate add-on. The credits Notion does sell, at $10 per 1,000 a month, are for Business and Enterprise workspaces.
What's a good free alternative to Notion AI?
AppFlowy is the closest match: its Personal plan is $0, and it can run local AI models. Obsidian is free too, but it's a note app with no built-in AI.
Does Notion train its AI on my data?
Notion says it doesn't train its models on customer data unless you opt in, and its contracts bar subprocessors from training on that data. Outside Enterprise, Notion lists 30-day retention with AI model providers.
Does Notion AI work offline?
Notion's help pages say AI blocks and AI Meeting Notes need a connection, though the pages themselves can work offline in the desktop and mobile apps.